Alternative Video For Let Her Down Easy

George Michael has now released an alternative video for Let Her Down Easy, featuring footage of his concert at the Paris Opera House. Please enjoy…

It features vocals from his 2011 Royal Albert Hall show, dubbed over the 2012 live concert footage from Paris. It looks great, and offers a great taster for the forthcoming Symphonica TV special.

For those of you who were missing seeing George in the main video for the single, this one should hopefully meet your needs!

21 thoughts on “Alternative Video For Let Her Down Easy

  1. It’s a shame that it wasn’t all in black and white, I also wish George was dressed more smartly in black tie and stopped messing with the cable in his ear… But overall, not bad. I do prefer the official, original video.

  2. You wish he was dressed more smartly… and stopped messing with the cable in his ear? And you also wish the whole thing was in black and white?

  3. Yes, all of the above. Why is that ‘remarkable’?! I think he can look far classier, he did so at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, apart from his chunky boots. I appreciate the musicianship in checking his sound levels but it looks messy on screen. And as a film maker, it didn’t work for me, going between black and white. Just saying… (‘The audience is so cruel’)

  4. Well, the critiicims about dressing smartly and not fiddling with his earpiece sound like something a mother might say to her 12 year old son. It was a live performance – if something’s not working right in his earpiece, it’s either “mess with it”, or stop the show. To leave it as it is, would stop him being able to sing properly.

    Mixing colour footage with black and white is a perfectly valid aritistic choice for a film maker. Not quite sure why then, as a film maker, it wouldn’t work for you… other than it just being personal taste.

  5. Love the banter back and forth…Personal taste for me would be anything that “George Michael” prefers to wear or how he prefers to sing…He knows wot he is doing…perfectionist that he is…:-)

  6. You keep mentioning the RAH audio, but it sounds to me Let Her Down Easy was recorded live in the studio. Regardless of what iTunes says🙂 I think there are beautiful shots in the video but it doesn’t come together for me, I guess you will have to see the entire documentary for that. Also knowing basically the audio is fake, in the sense that it’s not from Paris makes the whole thing a bit weird for me. It’s not the real live experience, the audio and images don’t really match.

  7. Anna

    I’m pretty sure the RAH performance George used for the album is this one from 28 October 2011:

    George has edited the audio to swap a couple of the choruses around, fix some of the phrasing, and take out unwanted vocals at the end. I could be wrong, but that’s what it sounds like to me.

  8. I am not convinced, sorry🙂 I doubt it’s a RAH recording. They have removed it from iTunes as well. But anyway, I like your description ‘alternative’ better than the one used by Vevo. It now sort of suggests that Let Her Down Easy was recorded in Paris. So they go from LHDE live in RAH to LHDE live in Paris Opera, they are making a mess of it! It supposed to be a documentary teaser, not a music video to go with the official new single. They have forgotten the difference and the confusing it now leads to amongst those who pay attention.

  9. It’s difficult… because, based on past track record, there’s no way George would take a “live performance” and just put it as a single without re-doing bits of it, and changing stuff around. I’d have thought when the album comes out, the sleeve notes might detail exactly when the LHDE and Idol were recorded, assuming they weren’t done in the studio. To me, it seems likely that the audio mostly comes from a 2011 RAH performance… it makes no sense to me that the original track listing in the press release announcing the album wold be wrong about that. The 28th October one sounds the closest of the ones that I’ve listened to (taking into account edits that make them very much non-identical). I can’t find a fan clip of that song from the 29th though, so there’s also a chance it could be that. We know that George felt he was really on form on the night of the 29th.

    I suspect the change in the iTunes listing is probably just someone in George’s team tidying up his iTunes stuff, rather than correcting an error. That’s because, if I recall, they’ve taken out all the “Live in 2011 at Air Studios” annoations too. Now everything just says, “Live” I think?

    Someone who attended the show in Paris said George wasn’t really on form with his singing that night. So it’s not surprising if they’ve re-done the audio for the documentary. I wouldn’t be surprised if all the concert footage in the documentary has the audio George has used for the album dubbed onto it.

    I’m pretty sure almost no-one will care about any of this! It’s only us those very few of us that like to pay attention to the details of music that will be interested.

  10. I think in a way everyone should care in the sense that if all the audio at the Paris show (which indeed was crap here and there :)) is replaced with audio from London, it’s basically a misleading product! I will be interested mostly in the backstage footage, so in that respect I don’t care where the audio comes from, but knowing it came from somewhere else here’s hoping it won’t bother me. My point now was being that team GM doesn’t really seem to know what they’re doing😉 It’s only in the title (Let Her Down Easy (Live) along with images which make it appear its live in Paris), but it creates a bit of a confusion, and it’s a tiny bit misleading🙂 All is fair in promotion I guess😉

  11. I don’t think it’s all that misleading in terms of the actual piece of film. It’s common practice for audio to be redone for film of live concerts (and film in general). The point is – what’s being shown on screen WAS filmed at the Paris Opera House. If it was footage from somewhere else, that would be misleading.

    I can see that the naming of the videos onf George’s VEVO might seem a bit weird to some people. That is, having one labelled “live” while the other not being labelled live might suggest to some that the audio tracks are different for the two videos eg one being a studio version, one being a live version. I just don’t think that’s what they meant to imply, though. I think all they’re trying to say is – the footage in the new video is of a live performance.

  12. I’m sorry, but this Symphonica project seems like a mess to me… Live? Studio? Studio live? God knows what this project is, but it feels tricky and manipulated and somehow fake and it makes me uneasy. I am yet to hear it of course but I suspect that the album will be savaged by the critics because it is neither one thing nor another.

  13. It’s not tricky or fake at all. Neither is it difficult to understand. It’s a really simple concept: the Symphonica album is recordings of George singing songs live backed by a symphony orchestra, a band, and his backing vocalists.

    Having all the musicians playing and singing together at the same time is a great way of making records from an artistic point of view. These days,with the sound recording technology being so great, the quality of the recordings can be stunning too.

  14. Adding an audience reaction from a live situation to a studio-recorded performance is fake because it isn’t real.. How hard is that to understand? GM didn’t add audience sound effects to the studio-recorded They Won’t Go When I Go, he didn’t need to do so. It worked beautifully as it was.

  15. You know… you really should at least *consider* waiting to hear the album before passing judgment. If, after hearing it, you think it doesn work, then that’s fine… but passing judgment before even listening to the record? Can you see how some people might think that’s a bit unreasonable?

  16. It might sound great… I hope it does, but I’m sure I will never get past the fact that the audience reaction has been edited in. I am surprised that you don’t consider it a flawed concept. To me, it’s the musical equivalent of canned laughter in a sitcom.

  17. You can judge a concept before hearing the result, you know – it’s a basic part of the process in producing a new product. I’m entitled to have a view and weigh up whether I like the concept before I part with my cash. I don’t blindly adore GM and everything he does.

  18. The canned laughter on a sitcom might be a good analogy, assuming you mean the laughter track on sitcoms recorded from a studio audience (it’s been a long time since anyone used canned laughter). I say “might”, because, without hearing the album, it’s hard to know. As an extreme example, what if George has decided to take all the audience reaction off the record?

    For me, the analogy helps explain why I don’t see this album as a flawed concept. When I have a problem with laughter tracks on sitcoms, it’s when they seem to jar with what’s on screen. For example, if there are laughs when nothing funnny is happening on screen. This, though, is about flawed execution, not about flawed concept. When it’s done right, for the right kind of sitcoms, the laughter track enhances the viewing experience. Obviously, some comedies work better without a laughter track.

    This is not about blindly adoring everything GM does. It’s that I think the devil is in the detail, and that success will be all about detailed artistic choices in the “execution” of producing the record. George usually makes great artistic choices with his records.. I have no reason to think he’ll suddenly start making terrible artistic choices now. Of course I’ll make my own judgment when I hear it.

    So, that’s why I don’t see any fundamental issue with the concept. Look – if George announced he was bringing out an album of Cliff Richard covers, then I’d think – WHAT THE FUCK IS HE DOING?! That would be a flawed concept in my book. However, I thought the Symphonica tour was a great tour. No reason to think the album can’t be great.

Leave a Reply

