True Faith by @GeorgeMichael – What Do You Think?

The new George Michael (aka @GeorgeMichael) single, True Faith, has premiered on radio.  He’s really done something very different, and kinda cool with the song. Hope you’ve had the chance to hear it – George’s treatment of the song is very chilled.  If you haven’t heard it yet, it’s worth pointing out that it might take a few listens to get used to the sound.

What do you think of it?  If you like it, don’t forget to join in with helping to make this George’s biggest hit in more than a decade by taking a couple of minutes to visit the link below:

https://remarkable.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/george-michael-fans-call-to-action/

26 thoughts on “True Faith by @GeorgeMichael – What Do You Think?

  1. i’m in two, actually make that several minds about it. i seriously HATE autotune, but then again i kinda like that whole nine inch nails vibe it’s got going on. it is different and it is interesting and i need to hear it a few more times.

  2. Well, to be honest, I think the vocals would have sounded better if he had burped the lyrics. I don’t get it, really. What George doesn’t seem to realise – judging by the last few releases – is that the (dare I say) main reason why people love his music so much is his ability to express emotion through his voice. This auto-tune crap is beyond him. Unless, of course, he’s lost the ability to deliver a proper vocal due to too much grass.

  3. I think that’s a valid point. I must admit, I was expecting a really punchy vocal on this track. Two of his favorites – Jessie J and Lady Gaga are really belting out their vocals at the moment, and making great modern-sounding records.

    Having said that, I do think this track will a wider appeal than both December Song and This Is Not Real Love.

  4. Quite possibly! I think there’s at least an argument to be made that George’s version works better artistically and musically as a song about drug addiction than the original – more of a spaced out/distorted vibe to mirror what drugs do to people etc. However, I do take your point that most people are still likely to prefer the original😉

  5. He always said he didn’t want to “do a Madonna” and make a sad attempt at a dance record in his 40s. Well, I don’t know what he thinks this auto-tune crap combined with an mmf mmf mmf beat is…

    Nevermind that he looks down on Elton John for “sounding the same as he did 30 years ago”. Elton has sold 450 million records through his 40 years as an artist and cashed in 600 million dollars between 1990 and 2006. Because he tours, because he makes albums – more than once a decade. Sure, he sounds the same, but that’s what his audience loves about him.

    Fine, George wants to make the music George wants to make – but he can’t expect his long-standing audience who were attracted to his sound back in the day to stick around. Then again, if he thinks he can get a whole new audience of (hot) 18-20-year-olds to listen to him on YouTube by doing brainless duds that the kids love, then go ahead.

    It used to be worth the wait, but the last few releases has proved otherwise – at least as far as I’m concerned.

  6. I don’t think you’re alone in your feelings – plenty of George fans will agree. I also think lots of New Order fans will hate this version.

    It’ll be interesting to see how the single charts. I think this is a better record than George’s last few releases; and, as I say, I think it does work as a record from a musical and artistic point of view.

    Do I think it’s the best record that George is capable of making, with the most stunning vocal delivery? Nope. I’m hoping and expecting for more from the new album. To me, this is a step forward though – and I hope the chart performance will reflect that.

  7. RemIsBuzzin Remarkable’s Blog
    @GeorgeMichael Nice treatment of #TrueFaith as a song about drug addiction musically and artistically. I hope people “get it”.

    You ass-kisser😉

  8. LOL! Just saying what I think.

    I could have said, to provoke all those New Order fans that are so upset with George this morning, that George’s treatment is actually a sarcastic statement of the fact that Bernard Sumner could really benefit from Autotune on his vocals. However, I get the impression they don’t have a sense of humour, so that would start a battle I can’t be bothered to fight… I have enough trouble with Muse and Radiohead fans😉

  9. Listening to the track again now… It would have been an alright performance if he had just done a straight vocal instead of all that processing. It just doesn’t work for me at all. To me, there’s nothing artistic about it at all.

  10. It’s maybe a bit harsh to say there’s nothing artistic about it at all😉 There’s clearly an idea there – to paint a sound picture of drug addiction to go along with the lyric. I think that qualifies it as artistic.

    Not saying you, or anyone else, has to like it though!

  11. I don’t mind him singing about promiscuity or drugs or reciting the phone book – all would be OK as long as he did it with a) some passion and b) his proper singing voice. Without the voice and passion (that he used to have), he’s just another dude with a small recording studio in his spare room, trying to be cool.

  12. I don’t disagree with that. If the whole of the new album was like this, that would be a big mistake. For sure, he needs some stand-out vocals on the album. I don’t see any problem with this track in the context of a larger, more varied body of work, though.

    Also, given that the world tour he’s announcing tomorrow supposedly is him singing with a big orchestra, it would be a strange thing to go into electronic mode for all his new music!

  13. I think that’s a fair point point of view. I think quite a few people are pretending to like the record at the moment – not sure why they’re afraid to give their true opinions.

    My instinct is that that this will be a Top 5 record, maybe even Top 3 if people get behind it. If that happens, it will be George’s biggest hit in a decade.

    But it’s just not as good a pop record as competing records like Jessie J’s Price Tag, or Lady Gaga’s Born This Way. And it’s not going to be the record that makes his album sales go crazy.

    If it falls outside the top five, though, I think it will really show that your opinion of the track is shared by pretty much everyone.

  14. It is amazing, it makes me genuinely sad cause i put myself into those lyrics and the atmosphere is so dark , i love it !
    I can feel the song although i have never used drug or smoke or anything of the sort …I mean i have no addiction ….it is so tough when u got an addiction of any kind ….and u think it never gets better ….wow…amazing version

  15. I have moments of feeling sad for other people and this is a song i wanna play when i wanna feel closer to them and i can’t help them

  16. just in case someone forgot….this is only a cover….he has been simply genial in having done something that most people didn’t expect.I love him for that!! I like the contrast of his warm and moving interepetation with the electronic sound effect..genial! probably if he would have sung it as ‘normal’ ballad it would not have been so particularly special..he used those effects as symbol according to the lyrics…this song is a sort of ‘presentation’ after a dark period, this song could be more expressive and better than thousands interviews about his jail time and past problems…take it only as a visit card…the next that will come I hope will be sensational ! sometime you have to go behind a song and seeing only the meaning of it and the proceeding to come to it…
    George is great!!!

  17. I don’t like this song. Whats the purpose of Auto Tune when you have a perfect voice.

  18. This is not just about doing a cover, this is about a beautiful arrangement that fits the message and vibe of this song.

    My morning sun from the 1001 tales lays beside me in bed
    Making me each morning hot and wet LOL

Leave a Reply

