The Great George Michael Hot Seat Ticket Rip-Off

When tickets for the 25 Live George Michael tour went on sale, along with standard tickets, special “hot seat” ticket packages went on sale. These tickets were much more expensive than the standard tickets. People thought they were buying tickets for great seats. The truth has turned out to be that some of these tickets were actually for the worst seats, right at the back.

That’s a rip-off. There’s no other way of putting it. When people buy tickets like that, they’re not buying them for the “exclusive” merchandise, which they know (or should know) will be the kind of worthless tat you can buy on home shopping channels. No, they’re buying these tickets because they want the best seats in the house. And that’s what they should get.

It’s really not complicated – the more expensive the ticket, the better the seat should be. Is that too difficult for people to understand? Apparently it is. What a bunch of money-grabbing tossers…

25 thoughts on “The Great George Michael Hot Seat Ticket Rip-Off

  1. Have you got your Hot seat tickets then Remark? When i ordered mine form the site,i’m sure they said(I took a screen grab as proof at the time) the seat was a premium seat…well the Gold tickets anyway…. I think the silver tickets may be crap seats. I will have to wait and see what seats they send me.

  2. I detect some anger in your current posts?
    You not feeling yourself lately?
    They not stopping your incapacity benefit/jobseekers allowance?

    Or maybe its the “Xmas blues”?

  3. @Robski

    No, I didn’t purchase hot-seat tickets. But, I have heard that more than a few people have been unhappy with the value of the package they received: sufficiently unhappy that they complained.

    I doubt people will be happy with the redress that George’s people are offering either.

    @Lucy

    You mis-read my mood… just as you misread my tax-bracket…

    Still there’s nothing “wrong” or “bad” about having no money. I don’t understand why you would think of that as an insult. Perhaps you measure your own self-worth by how much money you make? Not a smart thing to do, if you don’t mind my saying so…

  4. hmmm… I’ve have seeing these seating plannings and read theatremonkey site and have realised the fact that defining seats as good or bad depends of a large number of objective plus subjective factors… maybe the price of the “hot tickets” include the work and expertise into selecting them for the type of customer that decides paying for hot seats. To me personally thats a bit like scary… because I’m just a very subjective person… but I was thinking so.

    Also thinking whether the cases that we have read of people complaining were after the show and everything or just comparing the tickets with the seating planning map and I don’t know what I would expect about the merchandising…. sure not the moon ever…. but something meaningful most likely *rolleyes*

    About the ripping off from people, I would always feel better doing that to rich people than to poor people, but that’s as much as I know of the world…. so that’s kind of a general thought.

  5. I bought my ticket for 17th through GM official fan club, I hope my seat isn’t near the space where they keep the coputers,stereo and sound check little stage!!!!

  6. just got my silver hotseat tickets, spent £150 each but got £60 crap tickets. such a tremendous rip-off and i am so so upset. there must be someway to get my money back – i care not for the pathetic merchandise – some plastic cups in a zippered wine holder, worth less than £10 not £90!

  7. £150 Silver VIP (joke) package. One row from the back of the NEC Arena (under any subjective test that is crap) and here’s the reply from ETIX:

    >>We apologize that you are not happy with the
    >>contents of your silver hot seat package
    >>merchandise… The package description you saw
    >>when you placed the order did clearly state what
    >>your package would provide to you. It stated that
    >>it would be made up of an exclusive piece of
    >>merchandise (the wine tote is not sold to the
    >>general public), a collectible laminate and a
    >>ticket in Category 2 of the venue. Category 2
    >>tickets do have a face value of 60 GBP.
    >>
    >>Thank you,
    >>
    >>Michael
    >>Customer Support, etix.com

    Let’s se what Trading Standards have to say. If there are others reading this as pissed off as I am, then complain!

  8. What did they do wrong? people need to read the small print.
    If mugs are out there, these people will exploit them.

    I think you will find you havent got a leg to stand on.
    I bought my own tickets @£100 each with fantastic seats, 2 rows from the front.

  9. what are you on about?
    according to you everyone is making up stories,i dont see whats to make up?
    Yes i bought 2 tickets,yes i had good seats.
    If you want a storyteller go look in the mirror.
    Talk about PEOPLE IN GLASS HOUSES, the shite you have spouted for years.

  10. @Pete

    What am I on about? Not everyone is making up stories. It’s just that you and tvt appear to be the same person (sometimes share identical IP addresses) and post inconsistent views. For example,

    Pete said,

    “What did they (etix) do wrong? people need to read the small print?… I bought my own tickets @£100 each with fantastic seats, 2 rows from the front.”

    and tvt said,

    “just got my silver hotseat tickets, spent £150 each but got £60 crap tickets. such a tremendous rip-off and i am so so upset.”

    You also appear to have posted here under the names of: Nancy Boy, Greedy, lucy, Proper “Bo” and Billy Big Knob – amongst others.

    George and Andy Stephens believe your “real” name is Marty (he of the Pink Shorts). I have no idea. But, whoever you are, your sometimes excessively negative posts about George have certainly caught their attention. So, well done!!

  11. @Remarkable.
    Thanks for your post on Pete, i can assure you its not Marty.If you read Martys site he loves George.Maybe its someone causing trouble, i do hope not?
    Anyway i enjoy your blog.

    TS

  12. Hey, how did you go about getting your refund from etix. My silver so called *HOT Seats* are totally crap. I am so dissapointed.

  13. YES I GOT THESE SO CALLED ‘HOT SEAT’ TICKETS DIRECT FROM GEORGEMICHAEL.COM AND WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP! I ALSO RECIVED GM VIP PASSES WHICH I WAS TOLD AT THE CONCERT WERE NOT VALID AND THAT I MADE THEM UP MY SELF.THE SECURITY STAFF WERE VERY ABROPT AND ANGRY WITH US.WE PAID 1000 EUROS FOR THESE TICKETS AND WERE NOT EVEN ALLOWED INTO THE RECEPTION IN THE CLARION HOTEL IN DUBLIN WERE WE WERE SUPPOSED TO HAVE A POST CONCERT DINNER AND CHAMPERS AND THEN RETURN AFTER THE CONCERT FOR MORE FREE DRINKS AND WE WERE NOT EVEN ALLOWED ON THE COACHES THAT WERE SUPPOSED TO BRING US TO THE GIG AND BACK TO THE HOTEL.IM SORRY MR MICHAEL BUT YOUR HOT SEAT CONCERT TICKET RACKET SUCKS.OH AND DID I FORGET TO NOT COMPLEMENT GEORGE MICHAEL ON THE AMOUNT OF SONGS THAT HE MIMED ON THE GIG,AND THE AMOUNT OF BACKING TRACKS USED.WHATS THE BIG SO CALLED BAND ON THE STAGE FOR???????????THIS WAS NO MORE THAN A WELL PRODUCED KARAOKE SHOW.OH THEN AGAIN PEOPLE DO SING LIVE ON KARAOKE.DONT THEY???? AH WELL THIS IS FROM AN EXTREMELY PISSED OFF EX GEORGE MICHAEL FAN WHO HAS BENN SINGING AND PROMOTING MR MICHAELS MUSIC ALL OVER THE WORLD FOR THE LAST 20 YEARS.TO BE TREATED LIKE THIS FROM MR MICHAELS STAFF IS JUST OUT OF THE QUESTION.SORRY GEORGE BUT YOUR STAFF ARE NOTHING MORE THAM A BUNCH OF BULLIES AND CARELESS WANKERS.

  14. so,i was not alone in thinking that backingtracks were being used……the plot thickens.
    at nec on monday night tyhe backing track for careless whisper stopped and restarted again very abruptly leaving george with a rather embarrassing look on his face.
    the show that night was shite.and that was my 10th show.

  15. I get that you’re pissed off, but he may not have felt well, and therefore decided to use a backingtrack instead of pulling out. Would you rather he had pulled out and disappointed everyone?

  16. He does have to do something about certain members of the staff. I had a bad experience myself back in 2004. It’s mostly his fault for employing them.

    As for the seats, I don’t understand all that “VIP”/”HOT SEAT” stuff…I find them so superficial. But if he promotes such packages thru his site, then he’s got a certain responsibility.

    Somebody needs to break the news to him: it’s not about how much you make but how you make it.

  17. I bought two hot seat packages for my wife and I at a cost of £490. We were sent a tacky wine bag with two plastic glasses and £100 face value tickets.
    We feel bitterely upset that we have been conned out of £290. We bought the tickets from etix as advertised on the official website.
    Perhaps I should go to county court and take out a small claims case for lack of value.
    Would Mr Michael appear as a witness.

  18. Haven’t got to the concert yet and I’m already unhappy!I also contacted etix regarding the Hot Seat package I purchased. When the tickets arrived and I saw the price printed on them as £60.00 I was a little put out to say the least as I’d paid £150.00 each for them. I had ‘FAITH’ in this company as the tickets were purchased via the George Michael website. My friends brother purchased tickets outside of the official website for £100 and has got a much better seating position than us. The ‘souvenir’ tote bag and laminate surely when mass produced do not cost £90 even with an admin charge I find this one major scam by Etix and they must be working on one hell of a % profit! George, I know you like you’re trousers round your ankles but I certainly don’t – let’s hope the concert isn’t a disappointment!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

