Everyone Likes New George Single Shock!

Well, I’m in shock, and I’m not the only one, it seems! Why? Well, because everyone that’s heard the new duet between George Michael and Mutya – This Is Not Real Love – really loves the song. And I mean everyone almost everyone! It’s been many years since one of George’s songs has had such a universally positive response. In fact, I’m struggling to remember the last time this happened. It might have been when Fast Love was released in the 1990s, I’m not sure.

I hope this means the record receives the right kind of support from the radio stations (hello Radio 1, are you gonna play this one?).

Do you like the new song? Or are you the exception to the rule, and not keen?

114 thoughts on “Everyone Likes New George Single Shock!

  1. I think this is one of the most beautiful songs George’ve ever written.
    And their voices together are just divine.

    George’s voice is better than ever.

    LOVE IT

  2. What does his voice sound like in it? Is it deep and throaty like in the LWP days. Or is it higher like in the Older style? What’s the song like … r&B, I know, but what else. I’m going through GM withdrawal and I need a new fix badly!

  3. I absolutely love it. Stunning vocals, the kind that make the hairs in the back of my neck stand up. George is singing with full force, not holding back. It’s beautiful. But Remarkable, so far I’ve heard about one person who doesn’t like it, lol.
    But if this is not a hit in the UK then I give up for ever. If this doesn’t make it in the top 5 at least, we can forget about George ever having another hit.

  4. I read the lyrics this morning, I was expecting to find it emotionally draining. But then I listened to it a few times just now and realized it doesn’t reach me at all.

  5. Will we ever get another GM song in the US? He’s now released two songs that I have yet to hear. I sure wish we could buy from the UK iTunes store.

  6. I am not that surprised that everyone loves this song: it *IS* a masterpiece!
    Anyway, enough drooling. This song is what the majority of people love George for: his ability to communicate strong emotions through his stunning voice and unique songwriting style.
    I can imagine the red tops reporters being pissed off right now (yay!). Thinking that George is making it difficult for them to continue with their hidious campaign based on “What a sad old (fat)perv George Michael has become”.
    The general public now has an even stronger reason to think: “Fuck that – this guy is good! This is what he does best, sod the stupid gossip!”

    George, I know you read this, so: Thank you! You are quite amazing when you put yourself to it😉
    You can be my Angel of Tragedy anytime…

  7. @MissFreeek!

    George can be your Angel of Tragedy? I thought he was already your Angel Of Folding Glass Tray Tables.

    Surely, he can’t be both…?

  8. Remarkable,
    are you trying to give George *ideas*? Please, go ahead! George: fancy being my Anglel of Tragedy *on* the Folding Glass Tray Tables?

  9. Miss Freeek says: “This song is what the majority of people love George for: his ability to communicate strong emotions through his stunning voice and unique songwriting style.”

    Very well said. I think you’re spot on.

  10. Miss Freeek says: ”I am not that surprised that everyone loves this song”

    Everyone does not.

    Miss Freeek says:”It *IS* a masterpiece”

    Maybe you should define your terms before making such pompous statements.

    To me, this song is trying to be honest but…

    As for that ”angel of tragedy” part…the way it is sung…do I have to spell it out?

    Maybe I ‘ll share more of my thoughts later at this place:

    http://melissanthi.blogspot.com

    P.S: Oh, and the last part of the lyrics that Mutya is singing…I hear it differently than Knobby. I hear:

    ”Where will I go, what do I know about life without you…”

  11. I wish I could have heard the song, I hope the radios will soon play it more often. I cannot wait but, I am at work so I have to wait till my shift is over.

  12. Just checked again. This is what I ‘m reading on your blog: ”wherever I go, where do I know about lies about you”.

  13. Oh, wait, I must have been looking at a saved page(of your blog) from yesterday morning. Yes, now it looks right.

  14. When I said “saved”, I meant a page in my History folder. I don’t bookmark GM-related sites cause I so often wish to stay away from him.

    And even GM-related History, I clear it every few days when I happen to browse the *usual places*.

    Now that was too much information. lol

  15. Actually, I don’t know why the page in my Netscape History needed reloading to show the edited version. Safari doesn’t. But then, Safari gets on my nerves for other reasons which is why I ‘m not using it much right now.

  16. Remarkable, perhaps you should say that a huge majority of fans love this song.😉 Some seem not to like it at all. Although personally, I can’t understand that. George’s voice sounds absolutely strong and perfect, the lyrics and music are beautiful…I don’t see what’s not to like about it. But then again, each to its own. Tastes differ.

  17. Good to see minority rights recognized and protected on Remarkable’s Buzzin’ Blog. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. *smiles*

    I just listened to the song a couple more times…I just can’t shake off that feeling…This Is Not Real George. lol

    No, seriously, the best way to describe him is actressy. It’s like he’s writing in the *twenty third person* for real this time.

    And all those joints…Can anyone else hear the substance abuse in the lyrics?…like he’s divorced his own soul…

    Another thing I don’t understand: why are you all raving about a song that tells such a sad story? Is this Masochists Anonymous?!

    Actually, I was thinking, maybe George could be helped by gene therapy. I ‘m beginning to think his inability to write happy love songs is a result of some gene deficiency.

    P.S: The other parameter worth considering is when this was actually written…cause a song often describes the feelings experienced at the time of writing it…and knowing George, if this was an important song to him, he would have wanted to release it as a single straight away. But he’s been sitting on it for some time…Why is that?

    P.P.S: The more I listen to this, the more I appreciate An Easier Affair.

  18. Regarding the song being sad — MOST of George’s songs are sad; their poignancy is part of their appeal. Go all the way back to “Everything she Wants” — the message is very sad to “Careless Whisper”; while FAITH is ultimately renewing, there are sad songs there and I don’t need to do the littany of LWP, Older, etc. George writes songs that are sad. He’s the best at it.

    I love the new song — I like the arrangement that is not so overdone, both vocals (helping us to know George’s voice is ready. . .), and the mysterious lyrics. I can see a number of ways they could be interpreted, part of the appeal. While I don’t put much stock in anything else Melissa said, I do think she has a good point about when the song was written –that would be important to know.

  19. The verdict is still out for me, but I’m hearing it late after all the raving so I feel a tad disappointed. Maybe it will grow on me, I don’t know. I’m noticing Mutya’s lyrics much more than George’s, and she’s got more lines it seems. Also, the lyrics are kind of … well, let me have another listen and I’ll get back to y’all.

  20. George is using Mutya to get a certain number 1.
    In places her voice is miles better …

    Well done George…crap words ..sounds like a ten year old has wrote it.

    Would of been forgotten if not for Muttley.

    “I loved you in my way…but you know i am gonna leave you.

    Round here was 100% better

  21. You know what, at least he’s writing again and being active. I’m really happy for him. He’s getting back into the groove after a long reprieve so let’s not expect another Father Figure or Outside just yet. The duet is fine — not his best but certainly not his worst either. And much better than most of the crap that’s on the radio nowadays anyhow.

  22. I happen to wholeheartedly be enjoying this song.

    @Billy Big Knob – Something tells me that the last reason George invited Mutya to be part of this duet was to ride her coatails.

  23. If so he would have “used” someone who would be much more well known. I had no idea who Mutya was and I don’t think she’s had a hit as a solo singer yet, at least not one that I’ve heard. And although I’d be the first to admit that tastes differ etc. etc. I can simply not grasp how anyone can say George sounds bad and the words are crap. That is beyond me.

  24. @Billy

    Sounds like a ten year old has written it? That’s great, coming from someone who writes, “Would of been forgotten…”

    It’s laughable to say George is using Mutya, by the way… There are just so many other artists he could have worked with, who would have generated more buzz, if that was his tactic. If anything, I’d say George is *helping* Mutya…

  25. @remarkable ..such as?…is not the case of WHO wants to work with him?I presume this is single release? George Michael cannot sell singles anymore.He needs to help.
    I can bet you this…if Muttley had of released a single same time as George ..she would of went to Number 1 not him.Fact.

    Sugarbabes have instant number 1`s in UK..there one of the most popular groups, add to this being Mutya first release.
    Oh to all the ppl who havent heard of muttley..George really doesnt care about that because he is only interested in number 1 in UK.

    George is hasbeen ..face it, the very fact this tour sold out was because has has not toured for bloody ages…its just shock value.

  26. Such as? Well, if George had wanted a really big record, he could have released a duet with Mariah Carey – that way, he might even have had some US chart success.

    And Mutya’s success as a solo artist is by no means certain. That the Sugababes are successful as a group is nothing to do with it. Why? Because Mutya’s solo material doesn’t sound anything like the Sugababes’s music – which means there’s a question as to whether she can bring her audience with her, or whether she can get a new audience.

    Whether George is a has-been or not will become very clear with this European tour, and how well his new Greatest Hits record is received. After all, in a sense, you’re only as good as your last record/tour…

    And, by the way, you’re quite wrong to say George is interested only in the UK market. George is determined to see if he can revive his career in the US, which is why he hired a new team to see if they can make it happen.

  27. Pariah?? she is About as popular as a dose of clap..her career is on the rocks..
    Oh and about USA…

    Its never gonna happen.Even if he hires David Copperfield…

  28. Anyone with half a brain knows that the succes someone has in a band says absolutely nothing about the succes that person will have as a solo artist. If George had been after a no 1, he’d have used the Christina Aguileras or the Beyonces of this world.
    George is a hasbeen? If I got a pound for every single time that has been said in the last 25 years (that’s twenty five years) I’d be rich by now.
    I wonder why some people bother if they’ve got absolutely nothing positive to say.

  29. Mariah’s career is on the rocks? Her current album has so far sold more than ten million copies, and won three Grammy awards.

    Oh and about the USA. The new management doesn’t piss of quite as many people as the old one. So, you might find more people are willing to help George this time. The first test will be: can they generate any buzz in the US around George’s US shows next year? Time will tell.

  30. Ahhhhh “Billy Big Knob” – not only your comments are highly idiotic and based on your clearily dim-witted mind, but they are also written in such poor English that it would be almost painful having to read them, if it wasn’t that it’s actually funny and quite admirable that you’d even have the courage to post such utter crap.

    Maybe next time you post you could change your nick to “Billy The Tosser”… (just a humble suggestion)

  31. @MissFreeek….you my dear are clearly one big fat lesbian.
    @eva..after this year,you really think Christina or Beyonce would record with him?

    You are deff nutz.

  32. @ Dear Billy: Yes – clearly. In fact, you appear to have *absolutely everything* clear in your microscopic brain. Anyone can see that, well done you!

  33. Eva asks: “are you for real?”

    No, I ‘m surreal. Like, *totally*.

    I don’t hate the song. I may not feel much listening to it but that’s probably a good thing. And the music/lyrics…okay, so it’s not exactly LWP George but…it’s kinda sweet…a man trying to free a woman from an unhealthy attachment…whether that’s what he truly wants or not is not the point…He seems to care for her well-being…and that’s noble…

    I wonder if he meant those subtle lyrical references to KAF and Waiting For That Day…you know, the part where it goes “show them all” and the other part, “nothing to show”. He seems to be doing that often lately…

    So my verdict: it’s an okay song. Also, I played it to someone who’s not a fan and he said the same thing. It ‘ll probably get a good chart position…

  34. Billy…you make some interesting points. I’d like to ask your opinion on the reasons why Mutya accepted to work with George. what do you think is in it for her?

  35. @ Billy If throwing insults around is the best thing you can do, I seriously wonder what you’re doing here. A very sad creature, that’s what you are.

  36. yes Eva i thought the same of Miss fraank…

    Heirloom…….a bit of streetcred…and 99% number 1.
    Oh and plus the fact she will be invited to the G and K xmas party..

  37. Funny how you first argue that George is a hasbeen, no one wants to work with him etc. and then say Mutya would do it to get some “streetcred” and a 99% chance on a No. 1.

  38. I came home from work to see 50 posts and Billy Boy entering the fray! How humorous to read the give and take . . . A few thoughts:

  39. I came home from work to see 50 posts and Billy Boy entering the fray! How humorous to read the give and take . . . A few thoughts:
    — Mariah, whether you like her or not, is BIG TIME in the US; no one has heard of Mutya in the US, pointing to the very differences between the two music markets. Also, Mariah has often expressed she would love to duet with George, and he has never taken her up on it.
    — George wanted to sing with Mutya because he admired her voice and he has an uncanny ability to identify voices that will make 1 plus 1 equal 9! As a young woman, why would she not want the chance to sing with one of the great vocalists? It’s a win- win!
    — I’m not sure it has anything to do with singles, especially from George’s point of view, but it may have from the promoters.
    — THe more I read, the more I am convinced he WILL tour in the US, and I was one of the ones who didn’t want to take the chance that he would tour again and am making the trip to London.
    — I find it fascinating the way all of this is heating up and can’t wait to see what happens between now and the first concert. Great topic!

  40. @Melissa.

    “I just listened to the song a couple more times…I just can’t shake off that feeling…This Is Not Real George”

    hmmm…have to agree, having listened 10 times or more..it’s not growing on me. Slightly dreary?

    “No, seriously, the best way to describe him is actressy. It’s like he’s writing in the *twenty third person* for real this time.”

    His voice in this song, seems much like some other tracks on Patience. Almost contrived and unnatural.

    “And all those joints…Can anyone else hear the substance abuse in the lyrics?…like he’s divorced his own soul…”

    He is outshone/sung by Mutya on this one. That may be generous or otherwise, but he fades into the background without any vocal conviction I feel.

    “Another thing I don’t understand: why are you all raving about a song that tells such a sad story? Is this Masochists Anonymous?!”

    In George land, to be masochistic is to be normal for many…😉

    “Actually, I was thinking, maybe George could be helped by gene therapy. I ‘m beginning to think his inability to write happy love songs is a result of some gene deficiency.”

    Whatever it is, there is a permanence in this evolution of George, that is not satisfying for some.

    “P.P.S: The more I listen to this, the more I appreciate An Easier Affair.”

    I have to agree🙂

  41. “He seems to care for her well-being…and that’s noble…”

    Unless you wanna get cynical and say the man is doing to her what he’s afraid she’d be doing to him(for good) sooner or later. George has always been good at preemptive strikes. lol

    I just wish he’d do something about that “angel of tragedy” line *rolling her eyes*

    …and that other one “You’ve gotta face it woman, you ain’t ever gonna change me”…LOL…did he mean to sound funny or did it slip?

    And that last part that Mutya is singing…ugggghhhh…

    I mean George’s got Greek blood in him and the Greeks invented Drama and all but com’ ON, you don’t wanna turn this into cheap melodrama!

    Or do ya…George?

  42. This is an EXCELLENT song. I love it. Georges voice is as good as ever. Cant wait for the video.
    One of your best George…..thanks!

  43. This song reminds of that pretentious twaddle “Patience”
    on the “Patience” CD.

    The more i listen the more i think that this girl sings her lines better and george is just going through the “george” motions…..baby..

  44. Good that you’re still listening to the track, Billy. Not sure why though… I thought you didn’t like it.

    I agree with you that Mutya sounds great on this record.

  45. It really does look like theres one or two people with thier heads firmly wedged in the LWP sand pit…

  46. @Robski

    Good for them I say. There was a certain authenticity in the feelings expressed in that album…The ballads in the Faith album are also powerful…it’s just that LWP has that extra something…some magical vibe…

    I don’t feel the same listening to those songs as I did a decade ago but I still take my hat off to him for baring his soul in them. With this new one…I don’t know what to think.

    If this were autobiographical, it…how can I explain…it doesn’t respect the woman’s feelings…make her sound so overly dramatic…and the way he’s trying to push her away…No, he should have dealt with it privately, no need for a song. I mean imagine how she would be feeling now.

    And if this is written in the third person, again, it’s not respectful towards the people who truly find themselves in these kind of situations.

    When I say it’s not respectful, I mean he didn’t handle it with his usual subtlety…and poetry…whatever happened to the poetic beauty of his lyrics?

    Look, these songs will all be part of his discography. If I am too vocal sometimes, it’s mostly cause I ‘d like him to leave behind only beauty & truth*…that’s all.

    *and lots of funk, I love his funky numbers.

  47. Hiya, may I join in convers here?

    Just one thing!

    About the contrivition… contri-vity… oh contrivance my dictionary says! oh but a little poetry from me… don’t harm, LOL

    I believe it’s DUE to: (earth shaking… LOL)

    1- awareness of vocal craft… when this happens it can gets uncomfortable and painful… ok, lets not dramatizise!… but for an artist that blocks that much! or it does not block but one cringes endlessly when hearing oneself back once that one kinda realizes things too much… so its difficult… but then it depends a lot what he wants to mean… and sometimes he prefers some things better than others maybe when they appear.. in terms of poetical meaning that may escape to the less complex hear or head..! LOL… whom instead is going to hear a bit of contrivance or artifice.. and thats what is going to strike the first! hmmmm…

    2- uncapability of transparence… but don’t take that badly, we just know how protective he is of whatever he finds to be his real truths about all, he will never put that out, and the problem strives when he writes personal stuff then, which is natural that he wants to write about and people want to hear the most, but then I totally understand his motives, so its just that…. cool! great!

    But only people extremely sensitive these ways or spending too much time on him would notice, he should not worry that!, every singer has his/her own mixture and rate of craft and transparency, I personally tend to like the transparency the most, even when sometimes is rough or sounds “poor” but many people and sometimes me too appreciate a lot a clever use of the craft when voice nature is fortunate enough to permit so which is great and not everybody can do what they havein their mind with the voice that God gave them, right?. George loves to explore very much all his corners and the bad thing of that is just that it may cause insecurity.

    So as I had spent that time analysing that issue I just wanted to release my personal mini-essay of it.

    more thoughts of mine soon at janibena.bitacoras.com

    thanks!

  48. UnRayodeSol..OMG you have some time on ya hands..

    Here is my essay on it…………………………………………………………..its still crap…….

  49. Thanks Remarkable for changing my name..,how unremarkable.
    You take away my name…you take away my freedom of speech.

    “If liberty means anything at all it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.” – George Orwell.

  50. A name is a name. The truth is the truth.

    I haven’t moderated your comments. Everyone is free to express themselves here. And, it goes without saying… if you used your real name, I wouldn’t be changing that.

    I wonder if you are brave enough to do that though.

  51. @Melissa, it took a while to snap me out of the delusion, but it happened in the end…so cheers!🙂

    @Anyone/everyone else reading….

    To sum up, I think George is falling into the trap he has mentioned of others in previous years. That being one of not sounding genuine/interested, or heartfelt in your output. It almost feels like he is going through the motions of writing material. Much of the phrasing and words are rehashes from old songs, hence the ‘contrived’ remark. His voice (in this type of song) sounds like he couldn’t care less…

    Having now listened 20+ times to the song, it does not move me, or evoke any kind of feeling or emotion. If labelling, then a middle of the road album track is where I would place it. That may be hard for some to understand, but one (;)) can only assume that people either like this particular style of George’s, or that they are so desperate for his success to be rediscovered they are suffering some temporary delusion toward the quality of his output.

    Put simply, maybe he should retire gracefully? or write for others? To attempt the reliving of ones previous genius, is perhaps to appear ridiculous and either slightly obsessive, or self flagellating (at least in career terms). It is sad to witness.

    His best years seem to be behind him, and that’s about it really.🙂

  52. “It really does look like theres one or two people with thier heads firmly wedged in the LWP sand pit…”

    @robski

    It really does look like there are one or two (many thousands of?) people with their heads firmly wedged up ****** ******** *******.

    I’ll leave it for you to decipher😉 Personally, the album ‘Older’ is growing on me greatly these days. Although, maybe that says something not to cryptic about me!🙂

  53. Perhaps those that think George’s earlier material is somehow so much better than the new material are the ones that deluded?

    The new record is a perfectly good track. Is it the best song George has ever written? No. Is it a song that deserves to be part of a great body of work? Yes.

    How is this song a rehash? It seems to me that the idea behind this song is one that he hasn’t really covered before.

  54. @Billynomates

    Where in this world do you get the idea that George Michael is only working with Mutya to ride on her success? Is this some sort of joke? Who the hell is she anyway? I never heard of her until I heard ABOUT this new track. Now I know she’s from the Sugarbabes and they are OK in a teeny pop kind of way but rest assured the honour will have been all hers, not George’s. I’m not blown over by this new song but like many songs I don’t like at first it could(and probably will) grow on me.

    Anyway Billy boy, if she is such a massive star that has people like George Michael riding on her coat tail then how come she’s the SUPPORT ACT and not the main attraction on the 25 Tour?

    Trust me, he’s doing HER the favour, she’s nobody and her solo career hasn’t even started.

    You are dumb beyond any reasonable persons comprehension

  55. Mark says: “To sum up, I think George is falling into the trap he has mentioned of others in previous years. That being one of not sounding genuine/interested, or heartfelt in your output. It almost feels like he is going through the motions of writing material. (…) His voice (in this type of song) sounds like he couldn’t care less…”

    Don’t get me wrong, I really couldn’t care less if anyone likes the song or not, but reading your comments I’m wondering if you’re not listening to a completely different song than I’m listening to?! Not heartfelt? Going through the motions? Sounds like he couldn’t care less? I think that is plain ridiculous. If you don’t like the song, fine, but I really cannot possibly understand how you can come up with any of those statements. I think George sings right from the heart.

    @ Ann: no, you didn’t miss anything. Mutya is rumoured to do the song with George on a few of his concerts, but nothing has been confirmed yet. And with the speed Georges site is updated, it probably won’t be until after the concerts.😉

  56. Am I the only one who finds this song psychologically disturbing?

    Of course this is George, he’s contradicted himself in his lyrics time & time again…but still…this is BAAAD. I mean here’s a man who was infatuated with a woman for sometime but now he’s clearly over her. Her feelings have always run deeper, still do apparently, which is why she cannot refuse him whenever he goes back to her. He only goes back to her because his heart has nowhere else to go…So he’s been using her big time. She’s aware but finds it very hard to accept…

    But then we are told they cannot sleep without each other…Seems that apart from the sex, they make each other feel safe…But…usually those two things don’t go together. Like if you ‘re addicted to someone, generally you are either addicted sexually or emotionally…But if two people feel connected both on the emotional level and the sexual, then…well, it does sound like some kinda love to me. It’s like, what more do you need to make it work?! What, there’s no intellectual stimulation? Spiritual connection? Maybe George could shed some light on that one…I mean maybe he can add a couple of lines to clarify…

    And then, on the one hand, he says he’s gotta leave because he’s not in love with her and he is obviously not into monogamy but then he also says he’s gotta leave cause it feels to him she’s got something else up her sleeve. So which one is it?

    And those promises he made to her…he actually reminds her so she can hate him and leave him faster…How desperate is that…I mean he obviously feels guilty and he hates himself-by his own admission- but could it be that he hates himself SO much? Why?

    And now…has something truly changed? I mean, if he goes or she goes, will that be the end? Esp the man, is he prepared to leave her for good so she can get on with her life?

  57. @Melissa — I think you might really be the only one who finds the song pyschologically disturbing. It’s just a song – by one great and another very good vocalist — no more psychologically disturbing than “Careless Whisper”

  58. @Ann

    Yeah, I agree it’s just a song but then songs can be very revealing about the person who writes them…At the same time, I ‘m a bit of a writer myself and I always tend to analyse other people’s writings…esp the characters…well-constructed characters is the single most important element in a story, at least for me. Esp in a song where you only have three to five minutes to tell your story, every little word you use can be crucial to the understanding of what is going on…

    Now in this song…first of all, you have to look for the subtext…to me, it’s fear and guilt. The man feels very guilty, not just about the way he’s treated the woman but also for “what he’s become”. Whereas the woman seems so patient and angelic and…lol…I ‘m sorry but she’s just not believable!!! Of course there’s an interesting line she says…something about lies and deceiving…so she may be a good actress after all…Still, in most of the song she appears rather one-dimensional.

    As for the fear, the man is into a lot of fear…First he’s scared of the woman…well, I can’t blame him. If you ‘ve treated someone so badly then you are afraid you ‘ll reap what you sow…

    She doesn’t make any response to that(I mean, the “something else up your sleeve line”)…which in itself could raise all sorts of questions…Why doesn’t George get her to say something? Either admit or deny? Could it be that he doesn’t have that info? (lol) But that would imply the song is rather autobiographical…it would also imply he may actually be releasing this song to get a reaction…lol* Of course there’s another possibility: the song was inspired by something autobiographical but George turned it into a story(*a different story*)…he doesn’t necessarily wanna break up with the woman. I mean, what kind of person would do that thru a song? *rolling her eyes*

    *given that George has had many *liaisons*, often simultaneously, he’d probably be getting more than one reaction…to me, that’s the funniest part about George’s life. But also the stupidest.

  59. “Of course there’s another possibility: the song was inspired by something autobiographical but George turned it into a story(*a different story*)…he doesn’t necessarily wanna break up with the woman”

    Or he’s already done that in the past and just using that story now…maybe because he was unable to write about it before.

  60. “First he’s scared of the woman”

    He’s also scared of himself.

    And “them” i.e those around him and her- the whole world really.

  61. Sometimes a song is just a song. Imo this is about a man, leaving a woman because he’s gay and he tells her “you ain’t never going to change me”. They’ve probably been into a relationship because they confused friendship with love and it was comfortable and safe. A bit like Will & Grace gone wrong. He now realizes he has to leave her so she can find a man who can really love her and with whom she can be happy.

  62. @Eva

    Yes and no…It would make perfect sense for George to write such a song given his experiences over the years with women who want to change him(lol)…some sort of semi-autobiographical story…

    Thing is, this man says he hates what he’s become… Given George has a very extreme lifestyle, one cannot help but feel he’s talking about himself…And if he is, he has to deal with the self-hatred.

    As for confusing friendship with love and it being comfortable and safe…First of all, friendship is so important in a romantic relationship…so that would have been a blessing for both of them…Also, there’s some sexual element in their relationship as well…and apparently they cannot sleep without each other…don’t you think that’s strange?(lol)

    I guess there’s something there and the song doesn’t make it clear to what it is exactly. The woman appears more in love but also aware of the dead-end situation…They both feel the clock ticking…

    But there’s also something unnatural & unconvincing about the way the man is pushing her away…something in the lyrics and also George’s voice. I ‘m surprised that George would handle such a situation in this manner(lyrically speaking). I ‘m sure he’s well aware that a person can’t move on until they have somewhere to go…And if they don’t, what are they supposed to do?

    And the history…how do you forget about the history you have with a person? When you ‘ve given someone everything you ‘ve got, it kinda makes it hard to just wake up one morning and erase the whole thing…no matter how much this person may have hurt you in the process…

    And is it me, or is the woman considerably younger? She comes across as a child in certain instances…a woman child…

  63. Okay, thank God for iTUNES store I just got the song!! I don’t care what anyone says IT IS BRILLIANT CLASSIC GEORGE MICHAEL and Mutya’s voice perfectly match for him! It is now playing at this very moment at my house and I just can’t find words enough express my feelings…my second thought, to those ones who couldn’t accept the lyrics of it you should remember the line:

    ..”I’M not the man that you want”..(Older)

    Ladies, it’s all written.

    I do love the song, and I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE I’M GOING TO SEE YOU, GEORGE LIVE THIS YEAR!!!!

  64. @roly…..You talk drivel on Planet George..try to break the habit and dont start on here.

  65. RIA says: “I ‘m not the man that you want”..(Older)

    Mmmm, that’s an interesting line indeed RIA…infact the whole song is highly interesting…the video too…

    But I ‘m not sure what you ‘re trying to say here…Because my understanding was that he sang that to someone who thought didn’t want him…someone who ‘d possibly neglected him…and snubbed him…And because that person behaved that way, he surmised they were not interested, they didn’t care or whatever…But maybe he didn’t care either…just you read the lyrics carefully…

    The situation in this song is rather different…or are you implying the person George is singing to in Older and this woman in this new song are the same person? My God, this woman is so emotional, so cute, the other one-if it were a woman as the video suggests- must have had a soul of ice!!!

    Can a woman be so Geminian? Surely not!!!

  66. @ George

    You know, that ”you ain’t ever gonna change me” line…I really don’t think this woman wants to change the man…I know I wouldn’t want to change anyone, I would want them to want to change themselves…in a way that we could be happy together…And if they didn’t, fine…maybe it’s not meant to be with them…

    But then, this man says he hates what he’s become…so…could it be that he secretly wants to change anyway and he hasn’t been able to? And so he projects his frustration on the woman? Could it?

    And is the reason fear? Is he afraid that he could change for someone he cared enough and then be hurt by them? But aren’t people supposed to take risks for those they love? Otherwise what are we living for…

    Okay, maybe this man hasn’t loved anyone yet…not enough to take the plunge…let him take his time…maybe one day…In the meantime, he should let the woman feel her feelings I think…If she’s meant to let go, she ‘ll do so in her own time…

  67. After scanning a handful of the messages on this thread, all I can do is shake my head and snigger. At least you guys are entertaining. Maybe not in the way it was intended, but entertaining nonetheless.

  68. OH I just love, when the acoustic guitar starts playing in the second part of the song. It’s probably done by the “fabulous guitar player” George talked about, when he promoted Amazing.

  69. Oh, I don’t know Knobby. I think that the outcome of this thread’s comments exceeds even highest expectations!😉

  70. Just for the record … No, I’m not Billy. As many seem to think I am…. Although, I won’t comment about the big knob.

    I do however tend to agree with the fella…. The lyrics are the poorest I’ve heard from a George Michael song ….

    The vocals are good, they sound great together, but the lyrics… tut tut … Childlike for me.

    And Mutya has the best hook … What’s that about.

    Lee

  71. Did I really write all this stuff?…lol…I seriously don’t know what I was thinking(!)

    It’s interesting how he’s now tackling this issue of him being the one to treat a woman badly…in the past he was more into singing about being the ”other man”…the one who wanted to save a woman trapped in a dysfunctional relationship…either that or the woman being the one to hurt him…

    Ain’t things coming full circle now…

    Apart from the lyrics, I really think he needs to think seriously about his sound as well…As someone said(I think it was Mark), he’s rehashing quite a bit…Maybe he should take a break from writing for a while, go out there, have some new experiences and then go back to it.

  72. @Amazone

    Sometimes I get glimpses. So do you, so does everyone.

    And George…I wish he’d take his own advice more often.

    He almost said it all in Waiting For that Day…”if you will not share the blame…”…So what happens when people share the blame? Don’t they deserve to see each others’ face again? lol…

  73. george can do no wrong… no one can agrue that he is both a talented writer and singer.

    this release i hope brings the world back to acknowledging both this rich talent and class act performances.

  74. @Bas.
    So if he did “Bad things” IE robbed a schoolboy of his dinnermoney..you would still say he can do no wrong?

  75. So honestly disappointed….really. I’ve got visions of him sitting lazily comfortable somewhere, churning out this kind of middle of the road soulesque tripe, whilst reliving the old days of high fame, that he claims he disliked so much. Well, if you really hated it so much, why the constant need to stay in the public eye, albeit on your terms? It has to be said, but from this quarter, respect is wearing slightly thin now George.

    I still think you have immense talent, as showcased in your back catalogue, but most of the modern stuff seems designed to appeal to the Burt Baccarach easy listening generation, or is going repeatedly over old ground. Put succinctly, in my view, and based on what I expect from your talent, some of it is errr..cr*p, and if it were not for your magnificent musical standing, would perhaps never see the light of day commercially speaking?

    Maybe it’s because when the money is enough and the middle age slowly creeps in, the motivation or inspiration to make great original music simply disappears, as we see with so many other artists?

    Maybe because you were so great, we expect so much from you, and have to accept it’s no longer always there within you?

    Maybe the drive and the passion has changed, thereby making the music less credible and more predictable?

    Whatever the reasons, most of the music fails to move me as your sounds once did. Sadly, I am now starting to view you in the light the press often views you, and that I find deeply disappointing.

    So those concert ticket seats may never be filled for the night out I had planned. It just no longer seems worth the bother, and starts to seem slightly pointless. So George, I love the old you, but the new one is perhaps less endearing to some, unless of course you are female and hankering back to the 80’s…lol😉
    🙂

    I must point out that I have no wish or desire to offend people with my views, but am just stating it honestly as I currently see it. I truly mean that. So if anyone is offended I sincerely apologise. In advance to you I say that we cannot all be of the same opinion, otherwise we would be living in Stepford…! And maybe opinions can change. For sure if someone can polarise opinion in so many people, then they must be doing something to express themselves, which is all i personally can ask of the human creatures that we are…God love him, and all of us. xxx

  76. Hi Mark,

    please do not take this as a personal attack – far from it.

    Reading your comments, it seems (to me) that it’s actually *you* that perhaps linger in the past, with the middle age approaching. We’ve seen this happening to so many people: as they achieve what they convince themselves to be “better control” of their emotional self, they tend to switch off, they become a lot less perceptive/receptive.

    Maybe this is the case with you? Not being able to “feel” whatever emotions George continues to communicate through his music?

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  77. Yeh and if you don’t want them tickets you can always put them on Ebay!…along with all your George Michael CD’s…now that you’ve moved on!

  78. Melissa wrote: The other parameter worth considering is when this was actually written…cause a song often describes the feelings experienced at the time of writing it…and knowing George, if this was an important song to him, he would have wanted to release it as a single straight away. But he’s been sitting on it for some time…Why is that?

    P.P.S: The more I listen to this, the more I appreciate An Easier Affair.

    I know what you are saying. He must have been sitting on this one. *rolling eyes*

  79. Such as? Well, if George had wanted a really big record, he could have released a duet with Mariah Carey – that way, he might even have had some US chart success.

    Denise: I think that he is saving this song for the US tour in 2007…just a thought…

  80. Melissa said:I don’t hate the song. I may not feel much listening to it but that’s probably a good thing. And the music/lyrics…okay, so it’s not exactly LWP George but…it’s kinda sweet…a man trying to free a woman from an unhealthy attachment…whether that’s what he truly wants or not is not the point…He seems to care for her well-being…and that’s noble…

    Exactly….that is what this song is about Melissa…good on you. 🙂

  81. Melissa: When I say it’s not respectful, I mean he didn’t handle it with his usual subtlety…and poetry…whatever happened to the poetic beauty of his lyrics?

    Denise: Do I know you? LOL

  82. Melissa: just wish he’d do something about that “angel of tragedy” line *rolling her eyes*

    …and that other one “You’ve gotta face it woman, you ain’t ever gonna change me”…LOL…did he mean to sound funny or did it slip?

    And that last part that Mutya is singing…ugggghhhh…

    I mean George’s got Greek blood in him and the Greeks invented Drama and all but com’ ON, you don’t wanna turn this into cheap melodrama!

    Or do ya…George?
    And that last part that Mutya is singing…ugggghhhh

    Denise:I get you….LOL haha

  83. Melissa: But then we are told they cannot sleep without each other…Seems that apart from the sex, they make each other feel safe…But…usually those two things don’t go together. Like if you ‘re addicted to someone, generally you are either addicted sexually or emotionally…But if two people feel connected both on the emotional level and the sexual, then…well, it does sound like some kinda love to me. It’s like, what more do you need to make it work?! What, there’s no intellectual stimulation? Spiritual connection? Maybe George could shed some light on that one…I mean maybe he can add a couple of lines to clarify…But then we are told they cannot sleep without each other…Seems that apart from the sex, they make each other feel safe…But…usually those two things don’t go together. Like if you ‘re addicted to someone, generally you are either addicted sexually or emotionally…But if two people feel connected both on the emotional level and the sexual, then…well, it does sound like some kinda love to me. It’s like, what more do you need to make it work?! What, there’s no intellectual stimulation? Spiritual connection? Maybe George could shed some light on that one…I mean maybe he can add a couple of lines to clarify…then we are told they cannot sleep without each other…Seems that apart from the sex, they make each other feel safe…But…usually those two things don’t go together. Like if you ‘re addicted to someone, generally you are either addicted sexually or emotionally…But if two people feel connected both on the emotional level and the sexual, then…well, it does sound like some kinda love to me. It’s like, what more do you need to make it work?! What, there’s no intellectual stimulation? Spiritual connection? Maybe George could shed some light on that one…I mean maybe he can add a couple of lines to clarify…
    Me: Yes….that is what I get from it…

  84. @ Denise

    It’s a shame, isn’t it? If only they had taken a few trips down their local Barnes & Noble…while that clock was still working…

  85. I didn’t realize this thread had gotten so out of hand. Melissa, I think you’ve analyzed this song a hell of a lot more than George has. While you’re at it, please tell me what “Take Me to the Pilot” is about, because I don’t think Elton ever found out.

  86. george michael back to his best…as george once said in one of his songs, he is not fasionhable and that is why he does not sell the records his talent deserves..
    probably the internet has something to do with that.
    love the new song, no one can deny that vocally he is the best out there…

  87. Ehhh… Not his best. I’m not instantly drawn to it like I am with every other track. It feels pedestrian… compared to what I KNOW George can do, it just feels a bit short. ESPECIALLY after “An Easier Affair.”

  88. Melissa said:It’s a shame, isn’t it? If only they had taken a few trips down their local Barnes & Noble…while that clock was still working…

    Denise: Have you not heard of the George Michael Book club…I have. Much better than Oprah…*wink*

  89. Melissa: It’s a shame, isn’t it? If only they had taken a few trips down their local Barnes & Noble…while that clock was still working…

    Denise: No it is Amazone.com. That is where I find the books for our stimulation. Much..Much…better than the Oprah book club. hahaha Barnes & Noble does not have the old intellectual out of print stuff we desire….LOL I went there physically & asked for The Magus…not on file…Go Figure…So..I am devoted to my Amazone.com. Kisses to you, Melissa

    Denise Michele

  90. Fantastic! George never ceases to amaze me with his poignant lyrics and rhythms. He has an uncanny knack of choosing, not only the most beautiful melodies, but a voice so suited to his for one of the best duets to date. Love it, love it, love it.

  91. ok, back here

    I think the purpose of this song is expressing a bunch of visions a bit off the pan… that George found in himself so to do good use of them and make artistic value for him out of them. Good, wise thing.

    So that’s just it, instead of let them torture him… I can only think… uff… he gives them a shape of proper mixture of emotion and histrionism and finds a great embodyment for the visions in Mutya. I found this really funny, btw and she conveys it perfectly, me thinks!.

    So, maybe for the people understanding this, you find it a quite interesting song and show a lot of artistic capability in several planes for me. For people finding the song from totally new and fresh perspective… I don’t know, I find difficult putting myself there… lol, but it must sound great nontheless.

    It’s not like to write a love story plainly… it’s more like a collage of emotions, you know… but it’s quite funny…. to say the least…. lol😉

Leave a Reply

