New Cover Version Of Faith – What Do You Think Of It?

British duo – The Boy Least Likely To… sorry, I mean – the boy least likely to – have reworked the George Michael hit song Faith. I’m not really a fan of their brand of “cuddle rock”, so the fact I don’t think too much of this record is neither here nor there. The arrangement, in particular, just seems cras to me. I’m sure people will be saying that have a their own, unique sound. I disagree. Banjos, recorders, hand claps (and is that a güiro in there too – bloody hell, why not chime bars and chinese cymbals as well then)? I mean, give me a break – it sounds like something totally generic that would be put together in about five minutes for a TV show aimed at 3 year-olds. However, there’s a fair amount of buzz about these guys both in the UK and the US, and they’re signed to Simon Fuller’s new label, 19, so you’re probably going to be hearing their music quite a bit.

I feel bad slagging them off. Getting going in the music business is hard enough, without me being negative about them. I do genuinely wish them all the best. Like I say, the fact I’m not a fan is neither here nor there. What will count is whether lots of other people like what they do.

I’m interested to know what you all think the record though. Have a listen, and then let me know what you think of it. By the way, the guys are (sort of) fans of Wham! and George Michael (it was Wham! that inspired one of them to want to do music).

7 thoughts on “New Cover Version Of Faith – What Do You Think Of It?

  1. It sounds so harsh. But I agree with what you said about their copy of Faith! I didn’t like it at all. I got the kids to listen to it and they loved it. (They’re 9, 6, 3 and 2) The 9 year old walked away in disgust at the video for Hugging My Grudge though🙂 But again, the little ones adored it…. I quite liked that song actually. :s They don’t look like heart throbs?

  2. On first listen, its not great…lol

    It does sound a tad predictable with its musical pauses, and well, like you say…it sounds like something that could have been knocked together and aimed at 3 year olds…To be fair, its not a favourite song of mine anyway, but as a preference, I would prefer to hear something like a strong sounding gospel type version rather than this, which sounds quite nonchalant and ‘can’t be bothered, and errr…well..err…for want of a better word…pointless!😀

  3. Not my cup of tea that’s for sure. It’s too lethargic, people singing in the garden give it more energy.

  4. Cute cover! Flattens the melody a bit, but the BANJO makes up for it. Wham question: Does anyone have (in e form) a piccie of George under the waterfall (I think) from the Club Tropicana shoot (again, I think). The pic where you can see his penis through his suit? If you have it, please send it to me. I have not seen it in YEARS and it used to make my heart beat fast.

  5. Oh my god, me too! I’ve never heard of this picture but if anyone has it, please share!

Leave a Reply

