George Michael On Richard & Judy – The Transcript

Prompted by the ridiculous, homophobic stories in the press on Sunday, and especially today about his long-term partner Kenny Goss, singer George Michael phoned in today to the Richard and Judy show on Channel 4 in the UK, to set the record straight. If you don’t want to read all the words below, the bottom line is: he didn’t encounter this man on Hampstead Heath; the wedding isn’t off; it would be too difficult to sue the papers for libel over this – however he may try to get the two photographers who’ve been following him around on harassment charges; and there’s one more UK date on the tour to be announced around Christmas.

Oh yes, and his tenth anniversary present to Kenny cost him a million pounds. He wouldn’t say what it is – but sounds like it’s a painting to me. Lucky Kenny!

Tomorrow, the press will no doubt be full of rubbish about what George did, and did not say. Herewith then, a true and accurate transcript of everything he *did* say – the tone of everything he said was humourous; not a hint of being troubled! If any quotes tomorrow aren’t featured here, you can be sure George didn’t say it. And if they try to hint about him being anything other than on top of things, they’re lying.

Interview begins…

Richard: Let’s get the Hampstead Heath things out of the way first.

George: The truth is, the News Of The World knows I’ve got no issue with cruising, I’ve talked about it many times. So they have to make me look like the gay Wayne Rooney! (Rooney is a young soccer player, famous for being caught on CCTV having sex with a 70-year old prostitute) Much as I don’t want be ageist or fattist, it’s dark up there, but it’s not *that* dark! *laughing* I’ve no idea who that guy was, but – thank you very much, whoever he was!

That whole thing, I could kinda bear that. But you know today’s stuff is The Daily Mail and The Evening Standard taking a lie, and adding another lie and making a straight soap opera, where the wife is furious with me, and the wedding’s off, which couldn’t be further from the truth. And I think that’s really unfair on Kenny and myself really.

Judy: Kenny’s fine?

George: Absolutely. It’s no more of an issue than I’ve ever said it was. It’s never an issue between us. Actually, in fact, we didn’t have our wedding because we knew at this point in time, with me just about to go on tour, with all the rubbish I’ve had to put up with the last six months, we knew we wouldn’t get a nice, private, small wedding; which is what I want. I didn’t want a big, lavish wedding. I wanted something small and quiet. But I don’t even think we’d get away with that. There’d be intrusion. So we postponed it on that basis, which is them, you know? And you know, we had a lovely tenth anniversary party. *laughing* My tenth anniversary present to him, cost me a million quid, so I reckon I should get away with more than supposedly fooling around with “Bernard Manning” (old, fat, unfunny British comedian).

Judy: What was it? The present.

George: I can’t tell you. But it cost me a million, so I reckon I should at least have to do something he *dislikes* before the wedding was off!

Richard: Do you think what we’re seeing here is a complete misunderstanding between, not even the straight culture, but the Fleet Street culture, and the culture that you were talking about even on the Heath to those guys from the News Of The World?

George: I don’t even think the people at Fleet Street think the words “shame” and “depravity” are real. There can’t be any shame in a situation unless the person is ashamed, and I’m certainly not that. I think it’s a very sad thing for young gay people that are growing up, that words like “depravity” are available to Rupert Murdoch when he wants to have a go at a gay person. I think that should change, I really genuinely do. But from my own point of view, I just don’t want people to think my life is troubled, when it’s not. And I think I should be able to be what I am to young gay people, which is a man that’s managed to succeed in the industry for twenty five years. You know, I’ve just had the fastest selling tour of perhaps all time in Britain. And I’m not allowed to be that to young gay people – I have to be somehow troubled. And as much in my case, I know there’s no point in resisting it, you know it’s just part of the game. As long as you’re releasing records, you have to accept that. But I think it’s deeply ethically wrong that young people can be exposed to that kind of that language.

Judy; Because you’re so incredibly famous, do you not feel a bit embarrassed to make so much of your sexuality? To put it in the public eye?

George: But do you think that I do? Do you really think that I do?

Judy: No, I don’t think you do. But that is the risk you’re running if you go on Hampstead Heath, isn’t it?

George: The one thing I can do about this, ‘cos I can’t do anything about these situations without dragging myself, and apparently with today’s story I’d have to drag Kenny through the courts to try to prove libel, which I’m just not prepared to do, given the circus they want. Apparently, the only recourse I have is to try and get harassment action taken against the two photographers that have literally been tailing me for months. And I really don’t think I should have to worry, when I’m on my own without any security or any bystanders. I don’t see why people should be able to stalk you just because they have a camera round their neck. I’m sorry if people don’t like the fact that I cruise on Hampstead Heath but the police  absolutely accept that it goes on at night. It’s the only place in London, I think, where that is the case. So it’s generally quite a safe place. And I’m sorry if people don’t like that, but when they want to bank criticisms, I think certain words should not be available to them.

Richard: But in terms of you and Kenny…

George: It’s absolutely fantastic. I would imagine this rubbish will go on until the tour is over, at least. So I just want people to know, this really is a campaign. I think they’re trying to put me in the priory before I can get on stage *laughing*.

Judy: Well, I think it’s quite obvious from the sales of your tickets that you are enormously popular. There’s nothing they can do…

George: Thank God for me, that I have faith in the public, and I know that public opinion is not the same as the News Of The World and Rupert Murdoch. Thank you very much for giving me my soap box!! I know how useless it is. And I know tomorrow they’ll twist what I’m saying today, but sometimes you just have to, you know?

Richard; OK, you’ve spoken from the heart. When does the tour start?

George: The tour starts in September, and I’ll be here in December. There are going to be Christmas dates, and there’s one more to be announced. Please, please, please be there in the front row for me!

Interview ends…

Transcript not to be reproduced without permission. You can link to this @

https://remarkable.wordpress.com/2006/07/25/george-michael-on-richard-judy-the-transcript/

29 thoughts on “George Michael On Richard & Judy – The Transcript

  1. You missed that at the end Richard and Judy replied to George begging them to be there in the front row: ‘WE WILL!!!!!’ And sounded really excited!

    I’m sure all the George Michael fans will be delighted to know how much Richard and Judy love George!

  2. George’s true fans,dont belive any crap printed in the tabloids,the last load of rubbish printed in TNW was nothing but laughable..hence his sell out tour.The papers..know nothing.

  3. Thanks for the transcript!

    Did he by any chance mention Andrew again? I’ve already read on another non-George message board that it was mentioned that Andrew would appear at one of the Wembley concerts but it won’t be told which one. I’m trying not to get my hopes up about Andrew on stage.

  4. Thank you so much Remarkable – I don’t know how you got in on here so quickly – you really are ‘remarkable’!!!

  5. OK, it’s not that dark there. That’s the only thing we know now of that night. Good to have Richard and Judy who won’t ask too tight questions, isn’t it?

  6. Thanks for that – wish the press would focus on more positive aspects of George such as his huge fanbase, his talent etc and leave his private life alone.

  7. GEORGE needs to go on tv , here in the usa, and set the record strait. So many gay men, are bashing george for what he has done this past weekend and the past 6 months. As a gay male living in Dallas, Texas i, am hearing nothing about negativity about george.He needs to go on the TODAY SHOW, and set the record strait.He also needs to tour the usa. So many gay men and wemon, and staights, are saying that he, will never tour the usa.
    jason clendennen
    Dallas, Texas

  8. You should send your transcript to Emma Cox (e.cox@the-sun.co.uk) She needs it ;D

  9. Thank you very much for the Transcript, Pity I missed the programme (Punch & Sorry I mean – Richard & Judy. Good to hear from George voicing his opinions,direct and to the point. The guy is a rock and DOES rock… Even though I think his tour tickets are a bit pricing for my budget! Any chance of a Student discount or something Mr. Michael… x

  10. just leave the man alone you fucking tabloids freeks. Its really sad to hear and see the most honest stars of my generation to go through such a phase and that too when he is starting all over.

  11. You know I love GM, I really do and I don’t judge his fun or presume to know his relationships. …BUT I did find the whole “million quid gift” comment in bad taste. It sets up layers of possible meanings. When you are trying to ask for privacy, you don’t divulge stuff like that which could cause further speculation. He maybe should just walk away from this mini-scandal until he has time to think clearly about whether he really wants to talk about it or not. That’s MY advice to GM!

  12. Haha…Kenny IS the wife…lol. He is such a woman. Sorry, but I can’t stop laughing.

  13. xolondon – have you heard the phonecall to R. & J.? I do apreciate what you’re saying but if you’d heard the tone that George was using, you’d realise that – even so he’s been stalked 24/7 by the press – he’s still trying to approach things with sense of humour. I do admire him for being able to do that, I’m not sure I’d be able to see the funny side of it, and you?

  14. Did you ask Channel 4 if you could reproduce this transcript in full before demanding that others do not reproduce this transcript in full ?

  15. Andy C,

    Channel 4 own the copyright on the original broadcast. They do not own the copyright on this blog entry, that is mine; and even if this blog entry infringed on any of Channel 4’s intellectual property, which I would contend it does not, the fact that this is a non-profit (and in fact, non-revenue generating) blog would represent a legally acceptable exception and/or defence.

    By the way, I am not “demanding” that others don’t reproduce this transcript. I am simply asking people that if they want to reproduce it, they ask first.

    Thanks for your concern, though.

  16. Ah god, i am a george michael fan, have been since 1982, was truly madly deeply over him way back then, and still have a oooh lil crush now and i am 35! couldnt careless if he’s gay, couldn’t care less if he does some e, ‘slightly daft things’ at times, he’s allowed to make mistakes, allowed to be gay, and when newspapers flock in their hundreds to grab what bit of gossipping tatt they can to make a qwik buck, i have no respect. i am still a fan, and always will be, live and let live!
    alison

  17. Leave this man alone he has the best voice in the business. He is very honest, loving and giving man and I am proud to say I love George Michael and only listen to his music. I am 61and never had the pleasure of seeing George perform, I only hope I live long enough to see this man in concert one day and hope he will tour again in the USA. George there are tons of fans here that want to see you come here too. The ones that are writting this trash are only trying to draw attention off themselves, I bet if we looked into thier lives we woulld really find some shocking stories. George you have done nothing wrong and you are in my prayers every night, take care and God bless you.

  18. Pingback: Remarkable’s Buzzin’ Blog » Blog Archive » News Of The World Journalist Arrested By Anti-Terrorist Police! Excellent!

  19. ese rupert es un viejo cabron que no folla y no tiene mejor idea que molestar al señor george michael que no hace otra cosa que decir la verdad sobre la clase de persona que es es el presidente de eua. es un homofobico y creo que conspira contra GM porque sabe que el pueblo americano va abrir los ojos de una vez por todas.
    GEORGE WE LOVE YOU ,

Leave a Reply

